The winners of the 2013 Ifanca Helene James short story competition are:

First Prize:

Mike Watson, ‘The Scent of the Ocean’

Second Prize:

Veronica Bright, ‘A Hole in the Sky’

Joint Third Prize:

Gerard Loughran, ‘The Leopard’s Reward’

Joint Third Prize:

John Todd, ‘Five Foot One and a Half’

Congratulations to the winners.

Copies of the winning stories will appear on this website shortly.

The following submissions were highly commended:

Norman Kitching, ‘Behind the Smile’

Margaret Webster, ‘Frozen Birdsong’

Tracy Fells, ‘An Understanding’

Tony Oswick, ‘Bread and Circuses’

Rosemary Gemmell, ‘Gloria’

Janet Marsh, ‘Playing for Change’

Lynne Parry-Griffiths ‘Something Borrowed’

We would like to thank all the writers who submitted this year. The work was of a very high standard and it proved to be a difficult selection.

The deadline for next year’s competition is 1st July 2014.