Hélène James


The Ifanca Helene James Short Story Competition was established in 2011 to celebrate the life of Hélène James. Now in its fifth year the competition has received a total of over 300 riveting stories. We welcome submissions from anywhere in the world. Previous prize winners have come from Wales, Greece, England and Ireland. You can read the previous prize-winning stories from the 2014 Competition and the 2011 – 2013 Competitions on this site. Also see the update on previous competition winners to see what they have written and published recently.


2014 Competition

The Winners of the 2014 Ifanca Helene James Short Story Competition were announced on 10 September 2014 and they are:

1st Prize: Tyler Keevil from Abergavenny, Monmouthshire for  All The Little Children

2nd Prize: Diana Powell from Mathry, Pembrokeshire for Meeting Mr Dickens

Joint 3rd Prize: Luke Smith from Neath, West Glamorgan for The Boating Season

Joint 3rd Prize: Sheila Blackburn from Crewe, Cheshire for  Butterflies Dancing


Highly Commended: Christine Owens from Llandysul, Ceredigion for ‘Old Soldiers Never Die’


2015 Competition

The deadline for the 2015 Competition is 1st July 2015. Stories should be a maximum of 2,200 words. See the competition-rules and entry-form for further details on how to submit.

The prizes are:

1st prize: £100 and a bottle of champagne

2nd prize: £75

3rd prize: £50.

The entry fee is £4 per story.

The competition judges are Jeni Williams, Robin Bloor, Amanda Miles and Tracey Warr.